Let´s celebrate International Archives Day on June 9th!


It´s allmost there again! The greatest day of the year – International Archives Day!

We know it´s on a saturday – but let´s celebrate anyway! Let´s show off our archival holdings, knowledge and services this year. We invite you to tweet your most precious document, your best online services and finest webcontent, the coolest pics of users socializing and using the collections.  Show us – and the whole twittersphere –  what you´re proud of in your archives!  Let us know if you´re in – and if you will answer questions from users again.

We´re looking forward to another great Archives Day on the tag #archday12 :-)

This entry was posted in #AskArchivists and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Let´s celebrate International Archives Day on June 9th!

  1. Thomas Wolf says:

    For Germany lokk here: http://archiv.twoday.net/stories/97047546/ I hope many gifts for the 60 years old Federal Archives will arrive there, on Twitter or somewhere else. :-)

  2. Liza says:

    Excited for this years Follow An Archive. Loved it last year. My archive has grown so much this year. http://www.dykeaquarterly.com annotated online archive of US Lesbian political magazine from the 1970′s. Now housed at Library of Museum Of Modern Art in NYC and at Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College in US.

  3. Bruce Bailey says:

    Let’s hope that we with our friends in Canada can continue to serve the future by preserving the past. http://archiviststrek2012.tumblr.com/post/24471334985/photographs-from-the-archivists-trek-event-on-28

  4. Of course we’ll celebrate the International Archives Day this saturday!

  5. Bente Jensen says:

    Aalborg City Archives/Denmark : aalb_stadsarkiv will also join #archday12 / International Archives Day and look forward to Saturday

  6. The Regional Archive Alkmaar in the Netherlands will also show some top-archive-stuff on saturday!

  7. Brabants Historisch Informatie Centrum in the Netherlands will also join in on june 9th with some special stories and photo’s on twitter

  8. Denim Smith says:

    I just wrote a long comment that was lost so I would like to offer up http://Www.miLifemap.com web, iphone and ipad apps for all your family memories that I built and just launched after a death in the family. A lot of intuitive and effortless features for photos, videos, diaries, + social media backup all mapped on a private timeline + an eBeneficiary to leave a read-only account to a spouse, child or loved one posthumously.
    I’d love feedback from the community and all of my digital photos, videos, and social media are backed up and it is quite powerful with the fragmented nature of analogue, web products and services and devices now vying for our attention – mi Lifemap is your sanctuary.
    I hope you find real value for your family as I have with mine!
    Denim

  9. Zeeuws Archief (Zealand Archives, The Netherlands) will also celebrate International Archives Day on June 9! We will tweet the things (documents, services, building, databases, etc.) we’re proud of. Looking very much forward to #archday12 !

  10. Hello to everybody!

    From Spain, this saturday we are going to participate in the #archday12. If you want to know something about spanish archives, tell us and we will try to help you.

    Besides, the spanish National Archives will celebrate the International Archives Day with a full activities program on each one of them, here inhttp://www.mcu.es/novedades/2012/novedades_DiaInt_Archivos.html

    See you on June 9th!

  11. Ashley says:

    I tried to post this earlier in the week but evidently it’s still “awaiting moderation” so I’ll try again. The State Archives of North Carolina will be participating on Saturday via our WebArchivist account (although if people want to ask questions of our other Twitter account, NCArchives, I’ll answer them there as well).

  12. Pingback: Friends of the Archives Reminder and International Archives Day « History For All the People

  13. Beth Taylor says:

    Hello from Australia. We at the National Film and Sound Archive will be participating.
    Our twitter account is @NFSAonline
    Looking forward to it!

  14. Wolverhampton Archives and Local Studies will be participating in #archday12, and will be more than happy to answer questions from our twitter account @wolvesarchives.

  15. Gianna says:

    Our team at the Marist Archives and Special Collections would be thrilled to participate in #archday12. We are excited to share some of our most treasured pieces and answer any questions users may have! Please feel free to follow us on twitter @LowellJThomas (Marist College Archives)

  16. @agavist says:

    The #AGAarchive will be inviting guesses to what it is we’re posting over the day tomorrow in support of #archday12 on Saturday 9 June… @agavist will happily answer any questions too!

  17. SABC Radio Archives @SABCRadioArc & SABC Media Libraries @SABCMediaLib from South Africa will send out a few tweets. Our blog post went up today: http://sabcmedialib.blogspot.com/2012/06/international-archives-day-on-9th-june.html

    See you on the Twitter!
    Karen du Toit

  18. Hilary says:

    The National Archives will have a few tweets @USNatArchives and on tumblr (todaysdocument.tumblr.com and usnatarchives.tumblr.com). Looking forward to seeing what our colleagues around the world are doing!

  19. Chiquita says:

    It’s awesome to go to see this site and reading the views of all colleagues about this post, while I am also zealous of getting familiarity.

  20. At this time I am going away to do my breakfast, later than having my
    breakfast coming again to read other news.

  21. e-cigarette says:

    You’re so awesome! I do not believe I have read something like this before. So good to find someone with a few unique thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with some originality!

  22. Hello, for all time i used to check web site posts here in the early hours in
    the daylight, for the reason that i like to learn more and more.

  23. It’s fantastic that you are getting thoughts from this piece of writing as well as from our dialogue made at this time.

  24. I think this is one of the most important info for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  25. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it is truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  26. Mariel says:

    This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am truly happy to read all at alone place.

  27. Felicitas says:

    I have been browsing on-line more than three hours
    today, but I never found any fascinating article like
    yours. It’s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably did, the web can be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  28. Amazing things here. I’m very glad to see your post. Thanks a lot and I’m looking ahead to contact you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

  29. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  30. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I cannot join it. Is there anybody else getting similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  31. Obviously, the same three factors remain important as you seek approval on Credit Consolidation Loanss with
    poor credit. You can get loans irrespective of your credit score will allow you to
    reaffirm for less than $3000 the lender may ask for the total amount of money.
    If you get an excellent deal on your credit consolidation loans based on your income.
    But she did get me to fill out the form as completely as possible.
    It can also be done at the lot.

  32. Fernando says:

    Debt helps us to buy vehicle we want in the situation of bad
    credit. They provide resourceful strategies such as cutting down interest
    rates for the rest of the transactions will automatically take place.

  33. weblink says:

    Hey this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you
    have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  34. awesome says:

    Amazing! Its in fact awesome paragraph, I have got much clear idea regarding from this piece of writing.

  35. male models says:

    I think the admin of this web site is really working hard in favor
    of his web site, since here every data is
    quality based stuff.

  36. wonderful says:

    Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both
    reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still
    worthwhile!

  37. Shawna says:

    Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new
    initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

  38. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous
    websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.

    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  39. blusher says:

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the
    images on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  40. Thank you for all these great events during the last year. The Archives Day was a lot of fun and joy to share all these archives all around the world. Now I am wondering if you are still planning to do such an event in the year 2014…? Would be great. Anyway, I thnik that the possibilities of archives have been growing so much during the last years. And there are still many more possibilities and developments to come. I am excited what the future will bring.

Leave a Reply

